Big change ahead

Tomorrow is my last day at The Leading Edge; a place I have worked at for ten years. I’ve decided that I want to stay at home looking after my boy.

Ten years is a long time.  Close to one in every four days of my life has been spent there.

There has been some amazing payouts for that time. The main one for me is the travel. It can be a bitch some of the time, but I will not lie. The travelling was the best part of the job – not just a plane ride to the other side of the world, but sometimes just a cab ride to the other side of the city. You never knew what or who would be there waiting. It’s one of the best aspects of qualitative research – it gets you away from a desk and into places you’d normally not get a chance to venture.

First the travel was local. Then you find your feet and your confidence and then it’s up to Singapore. And before you know it you are sitting in a small flat in Nizhny Novgorod talking to a factory worker about Bony M, the Petshop boys and choosing wallpaper.

Yes, there have  been times at TLE where I have had to sit back and savour the moment. That “hang-on-I-am-sitting-in-the-global-head-office-of-a-bloody-big-brand-about-to-kick-off-a-meeting” feeling. I also get it when you are travelling and you get a weekend off to explore a city. Relaxing on a bench at Central Park watching eccentric dog owners parade past, catching a bus downtown in LA and chatting with the locals, having a nice meal with a client by the canal in Copenhagen, wolfing down caviar at GUM in Red Square, staring out at frozen Lake Michigan in Chicago, having a martini at Chateau Marmont (hello Ellen!). All of these experiences and places and people. None of them would have happened without working for this company.

Those little things kept me going. Hard work, lots of long hours, tough projects. All of that really was OK because I got to do all the other fun stuff too.

And the fun stuff wasn’t limited to the glamour of the global project. It was also the local stuff – the hilarity of the focus group were everyone is on a roll, cracking jokes, coming up with suggestions, telling you about their lives, helping you get to an answer. Being cooked lovely home meals and sharing them with a family; hearing their stories, some of them amazing and moving stories about coming to this country. (I think this should be mandatory for any politician – I think policy around immigration and community would improve tenfold).

And then there has been the opportunity to work with some very sharp minds. Some VERY sharp minds. This was also a big reason for my ten year tenure. I don’t think a smarter, more creative bunch of people exist out there.

So why leave? Well, the answer is Fin. He’s growing so fast. He is laughing and walking, and he is telling us stories. He’s one already and I’m the happiest when I’m with him. In a very short time no doubt he’ll not want to spend as much time with me as he does now – so I want to take advantage if every minute I can.

It seems like the perfect reason and time to depart.

2 Comments

Filed under market research

2 responses to “Big change ahead

  1. nicole

    I love what you have written. Nearly bought me to tears. I honour your decision and understand it completely. Finn will appreciate your decision. Love you Kel x

  2. kelpenhagen

    Love you too Nic – I remember quite a few fun projects with you. DJs Foodhall is definitely up there! That job taught me a lot about the power of memories!

    I am so happy to have worked out it’s Fin I want to be with – it’s such a simple decision in the end isn’t it?

    I am loving reading your blog at the moment. Tears as well reading about C’s first day at Green school and how brave he was – ah little people, they get me every time!

Leave a Reply

