Juno and the PayFrock

Hello dear readers

It’s been six days now since I’ve worn nothing but skirts or dresses. Today was another cold day, but got on with it straight away and wore tights and boots. The dress I wore is a Calvin Klein denim dress I got in Philadelphia earlier this year. It was crazy cheap and the sort of dress I always see little girls wear and envy. Denim, zip up the front, tie at the back. Simple. I wore it with a blue and red striped Dragstar t-shirt and when we were out and about a gorman cardie and a coat. Brrrrrr. Later on the day I even wore it when I took Fin out for a little ride. He seems to quite like to get out on the bike. I’m looking forward to going further afield than Marrickville Road.

So, I am doing this dress/skirt wearing thing to help raise money for the Ovarian Cancer Research Foundation. My donor number is 699861 and to find out how to sponsor me, see my last post here.

I was talking to my Mum this evening about Ovarian cancer and the early stage symptoms. They are the sorts of things that you may think to yourself are insignificant, and as the OCRF says, are not necessarily signs you have cancer.  But, if you are feeling these things persistently, or if things just feel a little different than normal – get them checked out.  These symptoms include;

  • Vague abdominal pain or pressure
  • Feeling of abdominal fullness, gas, nausea, indigestion – different to your normal sensations
  • Sudden abdominal swelling, weight gain or bloating
  • Persistent changes in bowel or bladder patterns
  • Low backache or cramps
  • Abnormal vaginal bleeding
  • Pain during intercourse
  • Unexplained weight loss

Read more about it here.

So please, donate the few extra bucks you may have found in the couch when you were plumping the cushions this morning!

Leave a comment

Filed under Frocktober

Leave a Reply

