Value in Meaning

I was discussing this shot with someone (taken on a street in the Gold Coast area in Chicago) about the meaning of the stencil.  Maybe he was more “civic minded” than me but he thought it was all “free speech” – “right on!” – that on that street, your thoughts mattered, and you should share them.

I, on the other hand, thought it was a little sleazier and at night, that street turned into an area were a different sort of value was created.  Maybe my mind is in the gutter, but the context of a stencil, on a side-street, on a cold day in Chicago, on a street I’d never been to, the message seemed anything but high-brow.

The moral of the story; intrigue is good sometimes, but other times it can get you into trouble.

3 Comments

Filed under marketing

3 responses to “Value in Meaning

  1. Definitely intriguing…I can see how both options are possible!

  2. I like your interpretation better….

  3. kelpenhagen

    Dirk – I would love to know the answer, but it’s actually quite nice not to know I guess

    Cheryl – I like mine better as well!

Leave a Reply

