Fare thee well, Pilgrims…

It doesn’t seem right not to post something about the leaving pilgrims.  Apart from a few annoyances (like being stuck at central yesterday afternoon with half a million people leaving the Pope’s mass…bad timing), it seemed like the whole thing went pretty well. 

Their singing annoyed us, their enthusiasm worried us, and their constant happiness confused us. But with slightly drunken reflection on Friday afternoon heading home on a train full of them, I was pretty proud we coped with it all quite well. And for the whole WYD period the city looked amazing.  I mean – REALLY amazing. 

I was even quite taken by Pope B.  I was actually quite struck by his question that could you could knowingly stand in front of someone who was a victim of violence or sexual degradation and say you consume that stuff for entertainment.  Made me think of various discussions of late around cognitive surplus and how we do spend our time…(she says after watching two crappy episodes of lipstick jungle last night…what was I thinking??? Over an hour of my life…GONE) 

But still my burning question is around his shoes and if they are prada.  And I did a bit of snooping and it seems like Pope B is on a bit of a branding bonanza! Natuzzi, i-pod, serengetti sunnies…everyone wants a piece of him.  But the Vatican has come out and stated “The pope, in summary, does not wear Prada, but Christ.” And when you bring him into it I guess that’s pretty final.

Leave a comment

Filed under marketing, Uncategorized, world youth day

Leave a Reply

